女性和 HPV

女性和 HPV

HPV 解释

人乳头瘤病毒(HPV)是一种影响女性和男 性的常见病毒,有超过100 种类型。事实 上,某些类型的HPV 会导致手脚上常见的 疣。大多数类型的HPV 都是无害的,也不会 造成任何症状,并会自行消失。

大约40 种HPV 因为影响生殖器区域而被称 为生殖器HPV。多达80%的男性和女性在某 个时间会感染至少一种类型的生殖器HPV。1

生殖器HPV 类型可能是“高风险”类型(如 16、18、31、33、45、52 和58 型HPV), 这些类型已被证明会导致某些形式的癌症,或 是“低风险”类型(例如HPV 6 和11 型),这 两种类型可能会导致生殖器疣和宫颈通常是良 性(异常但非癌症)的改变。“高风险”和“低风 险”类型的HPV 都可能导致异常病变。

HPV 很容易通过皮肤直接接触传播。任何有 涉及生殖器接触的性行为都可能感染生殖器 HPV。这意味着,有可能在没有性交的情况 下也会感染病毒。因为许多感染HPV 的人可 能没有显示任何体征或症状,他们甚至可能在 不知情的情况下传播病毒。一个人可能感染不 止一种类型的HPV。

我们不应对生殖器HPV 感染感到尴尬或羞 耻,因为这种感染非常普遍,而且对于大多数 人来说,身体的防御系统足以清除病毒。

如何知道我是否有HPV?

由于HPV 感染通常不会显示任何迹象,你可 能不会知道自己感染了。因此大多数人可能感 染了HPV 并在不知情的情况下传播给他人。

HPV 感染的后果

在大多数人中,HPV 是无害并且没有任何症 状的,但是在某些人中,病毒可能持续并导致 生殖器疾病,包括生殖器疣和宫颈癌、阴道 癌、外阴癌和肛门癌。

关于宫颈癌

宫颈癌是子宫颈的癌症,子宫颈位于子宫下 部,阴道顶部。当异常细胞在子宫颈内膜开始 繁殖失控形成癌前异常时,宫颈癌就开始形成 了。如果未被发现,这些异常可能会发展成肿 瘤,并扩散至周围组织。

虽然诸如口服避孕药、吸烟、女性免疫系统和 其他感染的存在等因素似乎起了一定作用,但 一定是感染了某些“高风险”的HPV 类型才会 患上宫颈癌。 “高风险”类型16、18、31、 33、45、52 和58 型造成所有宫颈癌的高达 90%。

每个感染HPV 病毒的人都会患上宫颈癌吗?

幸运的是,不是。对于大多数有HPV 的人来 说,身体的防御系统足以清除病毒。

对于不能清除某些“高风险”病毒类型的女性来 说,宫颈内衬细胞可能会发生异常改变,可能 导致癌前期,甚至在以后发展成宫颈癌。大多 数情况下,从癌前期发展成宫颈癌需要数年时 间,尽管在极少数情况下发生得更快。这就是 为什么早期检测如此重要。请咨询医生讨论宫 颈筛查。

如何检测宫颈癌?

宫颈癌可以通过两种方式检测,一是在看医生 时因癌症可能表现出的症状,二是可能通过宫颈筛查在早期阶段检测到癌症。

异常宫颈细胞和癌前期如何治疗?

宫颈细胞异常可分为低度异常和高度异常。大 多数低度异常会清除而不会造成任何持久影 响。

偶尔,如果不治疗,高度异常将会发展成宫颈 癌。这通常需要数年时间,尽管在极少数情况 下可能会更早发生。

如果通过宫颈筛查发现癌前病变程度较高,医 生将转诊进行阴道镜检查。

在许多情况下,在阴道镜检查过程中,将从子 宫颈取出一小块组织(活组织检查)。如果活 组织检查证实患有高度宫颈异常(称为CIN 2 或3),医生很可能会提出做手术来去除宫颈 受影响部分。手术可能采用多种方法和技术手 段来完成,其中包括手术切除和激光切除等。 通常需要留在医院一天。

如何治疗宫颈癌?

如果发现得早,宫颈癌是可以治疗的,但正如 任何疾病一样,预防或及早发现总是最好的办 法。在阴道镜和活组织检查后,如果发现患有 宫颈癌(而不是癌前期),通常会转介病人至 癌症妇科专科医生进行进一步评估和管理。

根据肿瘤的大小或阶段,宫颈癌的治疗通常包 括手术去除癌症(包括局部切除、子宫切除 术)和/或放疗,进行或不进行额外的化疗。

关于生殖器疣

生殖器疣是一种良性的肉色赘生物,通常是由 某些“低风险”类型的HPV(6 型和11 型)引 起的。

生殖器疣最常出现在男性和女性的生殖器外部 和肛门附近。生殖器疣可能造成如灼热、瘙痒 和疼痛等症状。引起生殖器疣的HPV 类型与 可能导致癌症的“高风险”类型不同。

与感染者性接触后,生殖器疣可能会在几周、 几个月内出现,或根本不出现。

生殖器疣是如何诊断的?

医生通常只是目测就能识别生殖器疣。

生殖器疣如何治疗?

生殖器疣可不经治疗而自行消失,但实际上没 有办法知道疣是否会消失还是会变大。根据大 小和位置,有几种治疗选择。可能会在疣上涂 抹一种特殊的药膏或药液。某些生殖器疣可能 通过冷冻、灼烧或使用激光治疗来去除。 然 而,无论采用何种治疗方法,治疗后生殖器疣 都有可能再次出现,因为导致生殖器疣的 HPV 可能仍然存在。

关于阴道癌和外阴癌

阴道癌和外阴癌是罕见的癌症。感染某些“高 风险”HPV 类型是阴道癌和外阴癌的风险因 素。其他因素包括吸烟和以前生殖器癌症史。

阴道癌和外阴癌如何治疗?

对于诊断患有阴道癌和外阴癌的患者,主要治 疗选择是手术、放疗和化疗。

关于肛门癌

肛门癌是一种影响男性和女性的罕见癌症。某 些类型的“高风险”HPV 感染是肛门癌的一个风 险因素,还有其他风险因素,包括吸烟和免疫 缺陷综合征。

肛门癌是如何诊断的?

肛门癌在初期有时没有任何症状。常见症状可 能包括该区域出血和不适。其他症状可能包括 疼痛、瘙痒、排便过程吃力、排便习惯改变、 大便直径变化、肛门分泌物和肛门或腹股沟区 淋巴结肿大。医生可以使用多项检查来诊断肛 门癌,例如身体检查和病史、直肠数字检查 (DRE)、肛门镜检查、直肠镜检查、活组 织检查或超声波等。

肛门癌如何治疗?

对于诊断为肛门癌的患者,主要的治疗选择是 手术、放疗和化疗。

1. 《澳大利亚免疫手册》第10 版,2013 年。

HPV and Females

HPV and females

HPV EXPLAINED

Human Papillomavirus, or HPV, is a common virus that affects both females and males. There are more than 100 types of the virus. In fact, certain types of HPV cause common warts on the hands and feet. Most types of HPV are harmless, don’t cause any symptoms, and go away on their own.

About 40 types of HPV are known as genital HPV, as they affect the genital area. Up to 80% of females and males will be infected with at least one genital type of HPV at some time in their lives.1

Genital HPV types may be “high-risk” types (such as HPV types 16, 18, 31, 33, 45, 52 and 58) that have been shown to cause some forms of cancer, or “low-risk” types (such as HPV types 6 and 11) that can cause genital warts and usually benign (abnormal but non-cancerous) changes in the cervix. Both “high-risk” and “low-risk” types of HPV can cause abnormal changes.

HPV is easily spread through direct skin-to-skin contact. Anyone who has any kind of sexual activity involving genital contact could get genital HPV. That

HOW WILL I KNOW IF I HAVE HPV?

Because HPV infection doesn’t usually show any signs, you probably won’t know you have it. Most people can therefore get HPV and pass it on without even knowing it.

CONSEQUENCES OF HPV INFECTION

In most people, HPV is harmless and has no symptoms, but in some people the virus may persist and lead to disease of the genital area, including genital warts and cancers of the cervix, vagina, vulva and anus.

ABOUT CERVICAL CANCER

Cervical cancer is cancer of the cervix (which is the lower part of the uterus, or womb, situated at the top of the vagina). Cervical cancer develops when abnormal cells in the lining of the cervix begin to multiply out of control and form pre-cancerous abnormalities. If undetected, these abnormalities can develop into tumours and spread into surrounding tissue.

While factors such as the oral contraceptive pill, smoking, a woman’s immune system and the presence of other infections seem to play a part, a woman has to have been infected with certain "high-risk" HPV types for cervical cancer to develop. "High-risk" types 16, 18, 31, 33, 45, 52 and 58 are responsible for up to 90% of all cervical cancers.

DOES EVERYONE WITH HPV GET CERVICAL CANCER?

Fortunately, no. For the majority of people who have HPV, the body’s defences are enough to clear the virus. For women who don’t clear certain “high-risk” types of the virus, abnormal changes can occur in the cells lining the cervix that can lead to pre-cancers and even develop into cervical cancer later in life.

Most often, the development of pre-cancer to cervical cancer takes a number of years, although in rare cases it happens more quickly. That’s why early detection is so important. Talk to your doctor about cervical screening.

HOW IS CERVICAL CANCER DETECTED?

Cervical cancer can be detected in two ways. A woman may present to her doctor with symptoms due to the cancer, or the cancer may be detected in its early stages through cervical screening.

HOW ARE ABNORMAL CERVICAL CELLS AND PRE-CANCERS TREATED?

Abnormal cervical cells can be divided into low-grade and high-grade abnormalities. Most low-grade abnormalities will clear without causing any lasting effects.

Occasionally, high-grade changes will progress to cervical cancer if left untreated. This usually takes a number of years, although in rare cases it can happen sooner.

If a woman has high-grade pre-cancerous changes detected through cervical screening, she will be referred for colposcopy.

In many cases, during the colposcopy a small piece of tissue (a biopsy) will be taken from the cervix. If the biopsy confirms the woman has a high-grade cervical abnormality (referred to as CIN 2 or 3), she will most likely be offered surgery to remove the affected part of the cervix. This can be done using a variety of ways including, amongst other techniques, surgical excision and laser removal. This usually requires a day stay in hospital.

HOW IS CERVICAL CANCER TREATED?

If detected early, cervical cancer can be treated, but as with any medical condition, prevention or early detection is always best. When, after colposcopy and biopsy, a woman is found to have cancer of the cervix (rather than a pre-cancer), she will usually be referred to a specialist cancer gynaecologist for further assessment and management.

Treatment for cervical cancer usually involves surgery to remove the cancer (including local excision, hysterectomy) and/or radiotherapy with or without additional chemotherapy depending on the size or stage of the tumour.

ABOUT GENITAL WARTS

Genital warts are benign, flesh-coloured growths that are most often caused by certain "low-risk" types of HPV (types 6 and 11).

Genital warts most often appear on the external genitals or near the anus of males and females. Genital warts may cause symptoms such as burning, itching and pain. The types of HPV that cause genital warts are different from the "high-risk" types that can cause cancer.

After sexual contact with an infected person, genital warts may appear within weeks, months, or not at all.

HOW ARE GENITAL WARTS DIAGNOSED?

A doctor can usually recognise genital warts just by seeing them.

HOW ARE GENITAL WARTS TREATED?

Genital warts can disappear on their own without treatment; however, there’s no way of actually knowing if they will disappear or grow larger. Depending on size and location, there are several treatment options. A special cream or solution may be applied to the warts. Some genital warts can be removed by either freezing, burning, or using laser treatment. However, no matter the treatment, there’s a chance that genital warts will reappear after treatment, since the types of HPV that cause them may still be present.

ABOUT VAGINAL AND VULVAL CANCERS

Vaginal and vulval cancer are uncommon cancers. Infection with certain “high-risk” HPV types is a risk factor for vaginal and vulval cancers. Other factors include cigarette smoking and a previous history of genital cancer.

HOW ARE VAGINAL AND VULVAL CANCERS TREATED?

For patients diagnosed with vaginal and vulval cancers, the main treatment options are surgery, radiation therapy and chemotherapy.

ABOUT ANAL CANCERS

Anal cancer is an uncommon cancer that affects both males and females. Infection with certain types of "high-risk" HPV is a risk factor for anal cancers as well as other risk factors, including cigarette smoking and immunodeficiency syndromes.

HOW ARE ANAL CANCERS DIAGNOSED?

Anal cancer sometimes has no symptoms at first. Common symptoms can include bleeding and discomfort in the area. Other symptoms can include pain, itching, straining during a bowel movement, change in bowel habits, change in the diameter of the stool, discharge from the anus and swollen lymph nodes in the anal or groin area. A doctor may diagnose anal cancer using a number of tests such as a physical exam and history, digital rectal examination (DRE), anoscopy, proctoscopy, biopsy or ultrasound.

HOW ARE ANAL CANCERS TREATED?

For patients diagnosed with anal cancers, the main treatment options are surgery, radiation therapy and chemotherapy.

1. The Australian Immunization Handbook 10th Edition, 2013.